Venture Investing
Investing in Prove | How to Buy Pre-IPO Shares
Securities.io may receive compensation when you use links to products we review. This does not influence our editorial evaluations. We are not a registered investment adviser; this is not investment advice. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Prove is a private identity-technology company that uses phone, network, behavioral, and other signals to verify people, prefill applications, reduce fraud, and support passwordless authentication.
Its latest major announced equity financing was $40 million in October 2023 at a reported valuation above $1 billion. The company launched a broader identity platform in 2026, but no later priced round was located.
What Is Prove?
Founded as Payfone and rebranded as Prove in 2020, the company sells identity APIs and workflow products to financial services, commerce, healthcare, and other enterprises.
Business Model and Key Products
The product can reduce friction and fraud by using authenticated digital behavior, but it operates in a sensitive area involving privacy, telecommunications data, regulation, model performance, and sophisticated adversaries.
Prove Funding and Valuation History
Prove had raised approximately $128 million before its 2020 financing. Adding the $100 million 2020 round and $40 million 2023 round produces $268 million of selected disclosed equity.
Prove Selected Funding Events
Verified disclosed or aggregated equity financing, USD millions.
Verified Aug. 29, 2026
Through 2023 · $0–$150M
| Date | Round / type | Funding Raised | Reported valuation | Selected investors | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Oct. 17, 2023 | Equity financing | $40M | More than $1B | MassMutual Ventures; Capital One Ventures; others | TechCrunch |
| July 29, 2020 | Growth investment | $100M | Not disclosed | Apax Digital Fund | Prove |
| Through 2019 | Earlier equity financing | $128M aggregate | Not disclosed | RRE; Opus; American Express Ventures; Verizon; others | Prove funding history |
Methodology: The earlier amount is an aggregate derived from the reconciled lifetime total reported with the later rounds. It is not presented as one financing. Debt and acquisition consideration are excluded.
Investment Case
The investment case depends on Prove converting its product position into durable growth while managing execution, competition, financing, and private-market constraints.
Low-Friction Identity
Reducing application friction can improve conversion while controlling fraud.
Network and Behavioral Signals
Longitudinal authenticated signals may be difficult for new entrants to reproduce.
Enterprise APIs
Identity controls can become embedded in onboarding and transaction workflows.
Agentic-Commerce Need
AI agents increase demand for proof of human identity, authorization, and transaction intent.
Key Risks
Privacy and Regulation
Identity data, biometrics, telecommunications signals, and automated decisions face strict rules.
Fraud Adaptation
Attackers continually change tactics, requiring ongoing model and data investment.
Data-Partner Dependence
Changes by carriers, platforms, or data providers can affect coverage and economics.
Competition
Prove competes with identity, fraud, authentication, and platform vendors.
Valuation and Information Risk
The latest disclosed financing may be stale, and private-company financial information can be limited. The offered price may differ materially from both the last preferred round and current fundamentals.
Liquidity and Transaction Risk
Interests in Prove may be scarce, restricted, difficult to resell, and offered through an SPV whose fees and rights differ from direct preferred shares.
How to Buy Prove Pre-IPO Shares
- Confirm that Prove remains private. Check for an SEC registration statement, a confirmed listing, or a material corporate transaction before pursuing private shares.
- Confirm your eligibility. Many late-stage secondary offerings use Regulation D and are limited to accredited investors. Individuals may qualify through net worth, income, or specified professional criteria.
- Find a live opportunity. Search registered private-market platforms or work with a qualified broker. A platform’s inclusion here does not mean it currently lists Prove.
- Review the security and vehicle. Determine whether the offer provides direct company shares or an interest in an SPV. Review share class, liquidation preferences, voting rights, information rights, and the investment manager.
- Evaluate price and fees. Compare the offered price and implied valuation with the latest financing while accounting for platform fees, carried interest, SPV expenses, and security rights.
- Review transfer and exit restrictions. Examine company consent requirements, rights of first refusal, holding periods, and what happens if an IPO or acquisition never occurs.
Accredited-investor criteria: Under current SEC criteria, an individual may qualify through net worth above $1 million excluding the primary residence; income above $200,000 individually or $300,000 with a spouse or partner in each of the prior two years with a reasonable expectation of the same; or certain professional criteria. Review the SEC criteria.
Where to Buy Prove Pre-IPO Shares
Availability on private marketplaces changes with seller supply, company transfer restrictions, jurisdiction, and investor eligibility. Always verify the live offering rather than assuming that Prove shares are available.
MicroVentures
MicroVentures facilitates primary and secondary private-company offerings. Eligibility, minimums, fees, investment structure, and availability vary by offering; Regulation D opportunities are limited to accredited investors.
View Available Private-Market Opportunities
Prove availability is not guaranteed. Review the specific offering documents before investing.
| Platform | Typical access model | What to verify |
|---|---|---|
| StartEngine Private | Late-stage private-company offerings | Current issuer availability, eligibility, minimum, fees, and vehicle structure |
| Forge Global | Private-company secondary marketplace and brokerage | Seller availability, accreditation, price, share class, and transaction costs |
| EquityZen | Private-company offerings that may use pooled vehicles | SPV terms, fees, minimum, economic rights, and transfer conditions |
| Rainmaker Securities | Broker-assisted private-company transactions | Security source, broker fees, settlement, and company approval |
| Hiive | Private-market bids, asks, and facilitated trades | Indicative versus executable pricing, fees, and transfer restrictions |
| EquityBee | Employee stock-option financing and related exposure | Contract structure, payoff terms, fees, and whether exposure is direct or indirect |
| Augment | Private-market transaction platform | Counterparty, price, share class, fees, and settlement terms |
Prove Valuation and IPO Outlook
Prove remains private. Its April 2026 platform launch expands the product narrative to people, businesses, and AI agents, but it does not update the 2023 valuation.
Investors should verify current transaction volume, customer concentration, model performance, recurring revenue, regulatory exposure, profitability, and capitalization.
Investing in Prove Pre-IPO Shares | Conclusion
Prove offers differentiated exposure to digital identity verification and authentication.
The opportunity should be weighed against execution, competition, valuation, information, dilution, and liquidity risks. Investors should verify current operating data and underwrite the exact security rather than relying on an assumed IPO.
Explore other pre-IPO investment opportunities.
Primary and Supporting Sources
- Prove 2026 identity platform launch
- Prove 2023 financing reporting
- Prove 2020 investment announcement
Disclaimer: This article is for informational purposes only and does not constitute financial, investment, legal, or tax advice. Private securities can result in the loss of the entire investment and may remain illiquid indefinitely. Company and marketplace availability can change without notice. Verify all terms in the applicable offering documents and consult qualified professional advisers where appropriate.












