Venture Investing
Investing in Databricks Stock | How to Buy Pre-IPO Shares (2026)
Securities.io may receive compensation when you use links to products we review. This does not influence our editorial evaluations. We are not a registered investment adviser; this is not investment advice. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Databricks is a private data and artificial-intelligence software company whose platform combines data engineering, analytics, governance, databases, and AI development. Its products include the Data Intelligence Platform, Unity Catalog, Lakeflow, Lakebase, Genie, and AI tooling for enterprise agents.
The company has substantial scale and growth, but private shares remain illiquid and their value depends on current revenue, margins, competitive positioning, the security offered, fees, dilution, transfer restrictions, and the timing—or absence—of a public exit.
What Is Databricks?
Databricks was founded in 2013 by creators of Apache Spark and has expanded from large-scale data processing into an integrated platform for analytics, governance, databases, and AI. The company acquired MosaicML and has continued investing in tools for building and operating AI applications and agents.
Business Model and Key Products
In August 2026, Databricks said it had surpassed a $7 billion revenue run-rate, was growing more than 80% year over year, served more than 20,000 organizations, and counted 70% of the Fortune 500 as customers.
Databricks Funding and Valuation History
Databricks closed a $5 billion strategic funding round in August 2026 at a $190 billion valuation. The history below tracks the disclosed equity rounds from Series A in 2013 through the latest strategic financing and separates debt capacity from equity funding.
Databricks Selected Funding Events
Verified disclosed equity financing from Series A onward, USD millions; debt excluded.
Verified Aug. 24, 2026
2013–2017 · $0–$150M
2019–2021 · $0–$2B
2023–2025 · $0–$10B
2026 · $0–$5B
| Date | Round / type | Funding Raised | Reported valuation | Selected investors | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug. 13, 2026 | Strategic funding | $5B | $190B | Coatue; Blackstone; MGX; T. Rowe Price; Sixth Street; others | Databricks |
| Feb. 9, 2026 | Series L close | Approx. $5B equity | $134B | Goldman Sachs; Microsoft; Morgan Stanley; QIA; UBS-associated funds; others | Databricks |
| Feb. 9, 2026 | Additional debt capacity | Approx. $2B | Not applicable | Debt providers not fully disclosed | Databricks |
| Sep. 8, 2025 | Series K | $1B | More than $100B | Andreessen Horowitz; BlackRock; Fidelity; Insight; Thrive; others | Reuters |
| Jan. 22, 2025 | Series J final close | $10B equity | $62B | Thrive Capital; a16z; DST Global; GIC; Insight; WCM; others | Databricks |
| Sep. 14, 2023 | Series I | $500M | $43B | T. Rowe Price; a16z; Baillie Gifford; Fidelity; Franklin Templeton; others | Databricks |
| Aug. 31, 2021 | Series H | $1.6B | $38B | Counterpoint Global; Baillie Gifford; ClearBridge; UC Investments; others | Databricks release |
| Feb. 1, 2021 | Series G | $1B | $28B after the round | Franklin Templeton; AWS; CapitalG; Salesforce Ventures; others | TechCrunch |
| Oct. 22, 2019 | Series F | $400M | $6.2B | Andreessen Horowitz; BlackRock; Coatue; Green Bay Ventures; others | TechCrunch |
| Feb. 5, 2019 | Series E | $250M | $2.75B | Andreessen Horowitz; Coatue; Microsoft; NEA; others | TechCrunch |
| Aug. 22, 2017 | Series D | $140M | Not disclosed | Andreessen Horowitz; Battery Ventures; NEA; others | GlobeNewswire |
| Dec. 15, 2016 | Series C | $60M | Not disclosed | NEA; Andreessen Horowitz; B7; In-Q-Tel; SineWave Ventures | PitchBook |
| June 30, 2014 | Series B | $33M | Not disclosed | NEA; Andreessen Horowitz; Data Collective; Australia Future Fund | PitchBook |
| Sep. 24, 2013 | Series A | $14M | Not disclosed | Andreessen Horowitz | PitchBook |
Methodology: The disclosed equity rounds plotted above total approximately $25.0 billion. The Series J row uses the final $10 billion equity close and excludes its separate $5.25 billion credit facility. The Series L row uses approximately $5 billion of equity and excludes approximately $2 billion of added debt capacity. The July 2026 $188 billion term-sheet announcement is superseded by the August close and is not counted separately.
Investment Case
The investment case rests on whether Databricks can remain a central platform for enterprise data and AI while expanding databases, agents, governance, analytics, and developer workloads.
Enterprise Scale
More than 20,000 organizations and 70% of the Fortune 500 reportedly use the platform, supporting large and durable workloads.
Data and AI Convergence
Databricks combines data engineering, warehousing, governance, databases, and AI development in a unified platform.
Rapid Revenue Growth
The company reported a revenue run-rate above $7 billion and more than 80% year-over-year growth in August 2026.
Open Ecosystem
Products built around open-source projects and multi-cloud deployment can reduce customer lock-in concerns and broaden adoption.
Key Risks
Competition
Databricks competes with Snowflake, cloud providers, database vendors, analytics platforms, and AI infrastructure companies.
Cloud and Infrastructure Dependence
The platform relies on major cloud environments, and changes in partner pricing or strategy can affect margins and distribution.
Execution and Integration Risk
A rapidly expanding product suite and acquisitions require disciplined integration, security, support, and go-to-market execution.
Security and Governance Risk
Customers use Databricks for sensitive enterprise data; outages, breaches, or governance failures could cause material harm.
Valuation and Dilution
A $190 billion private valuation assumes continued high growth; future financings may occur at different prices or rights and dilute holders.
Liquidity and Offering Structure
Private shares and SPV interests may remain illiquid and can carry transfer restrictions, fees, and rights different from preferred shares.
How to Buy Databricks Pre-IPO Shares
- Confirm that Databricks remains private. Check for an SEC registration statement, a confirmed listing, or a material corporate transaction before pursuing private shares.
- Confirm your eligibility. Many late-stage secondary offerings use Regulation D and are limited to accredited investors. Individuals may qualify through net worth, income, or specified professional criteria.
- Find a live opportunity. Search registered private-market platforms or work with a qualified broker. A platform’s inclusion here does not mean it currently lists Databricks.
- Review the security and vehicle. Determine whether the offer provides direct company shares or an interest in an SPV. Review share class, liquidation preferences, voting rights, information rights, and the investment manager.
- Evaluate price and fees. Compare the offered price and implied valuation with the latest financing while accounting for platform fees, carried interest, SPV expenses, and security rights.
- Review transfer and exit restrictions. Examine company consent requirements, rights of first refusal, holding periods, and what happens if an IPO or acquisition never occurs.
Accredited-investor criteria: Under current SEC criteria, an individual may qualify through net worth above $1 million excluding the primary residence; income above $200,000 individually or $300,000 with a spouse or partner in each of the prior two years with a reasonable expectation of the same; or certain professional criteria. Review the SEC criteria.
Where to Buy Databricks Pre-IPO Shares
Availability on private marketplaces changes with seller supply, company transfer restrictions, jurisdiction, and investor eligibility. Always verify the live offering rather than assuming that Databricks shares are available.
MicroVentures
MicroVentures facilitates primary and secondary private-company offerings. Eligibility, minimums, fees, investment structure, and availability vary by offering; Regulation D opportunities are limited to accredited investors.
View Available Private-Market Opportunities
Databricks availability is not guaranteed. Review the specific offering documents before investing.
| Platform | Typical access model | What to verify |
|---|---|---|
| StartEngine Private | Late-stage private-company offerings | Current issuer availability, eligibility, minimum, fees, and vehicle structure |
| Forge Global | Private-company secondary marketplace and brokerage | Seller availability, accreditation, price, share class, and transaction costs |
| EquityZen | Private-company offerings that may use pooled vehicles | SPV terms, fees, minimum, economic rights, and transfer conditions |
| Rainmaker Securities | Broker-assisted private-company transactions | Security source, broker fees, settlement, and company approval |
| Hiive | Private-market bids, asks, and facilitated trades | Indicative versus executable pricing, fees, and transfer restrictions |
| EquityBee | Employee stock-option financing and related exposure | Contract structure, payoff terms, fees, and whether exposure is direct or indirect |
| Augment | Private-market transaction platform | Counterparty, price, share class, fees, and settlement terms |
Databricks Valuation and IPO Outlook
Databricks’ latest company-announced financing closed in August 2026 with $5 billion at a $190 billion valuation. It followed an approximately $5 billion Series L equity close in February 2026 at $134 billion and a separate approximately $2 billion increase in debt capacity.
Databricks has long been discussed as an IPO candidate, but it has not announced a confirmed registration statement, exchange, ticker, or public listing date. Current financials, share class, transfer rights, and offering price should be evaluated independently of public-listing expectations.
Investing in Databricks Pre-IPO Shares | Conclusion
Databricks has developed a scaled data and AI platform with rapid growth, broad enterprise adoption, and an expanding product portfolio across analytics, governance, databases, and agents.
Investors should balance that momentum against intense competition, infrastructure dependence, execution and security risks, a high private valuation, dilution, and illiquidity. Equity funding and debt capacity must be evaluated separately, and a public listing should not be assumed.
Explore other pre-IPO investment opportunities.
Primary and Supporting Sources
- Databricks August 2026 strategic financing and operating update
- Databricks February 2026 Series L close and debt capacity
- Databricks January 2025 Series J final financing
- Databricks Series I announcement
- Databricks Series H announcement
- Databricks Series G reporting
- Databricks Series F reporting
- PitchBook Databricks early-round history
Disclaimer: This article is for informational purposes only and does not constitute financial, investment, legal, or tax advice. Private securities can result in the loss of the entire investment and may remain illiquid indefinitely. Company and marketplace availability can change without notice. Verify all terms in the applicable offering documents and consult qualified professional advisers where appropriate.












